Non-Profit Trusted Source of Non-Commercial Health Information
The Original Voice of the American Academy of Anti-Aging, Preventative, and Regenerative Medicine
logo logo
Home » Functional Foods & Beverages

7 Best Foods For Beautiful Teeth (+ 7 Surprising Foods To Avoid)

By dsorbello at Oct. 29, 2015, 3:14 a.m., 16616 hits

by Mark Burhenne

Long before dental school, I used to think I could “brush away” the sugar in my daily after-school treat, a Butterfinger.

But now, after nearly 30 years as a dentist, I know preventing cavities isn't just about brushing and flossing daily.

In fact, what we eat — and don’t eat — can be just as important when it comes to maintaining a beautiful smile. Smart food choices can make the difference between teeth that cause you daily pain, and glowing teeth that serve you well for a lifetime.

So I’m sharing my seven favorite foods that help keep your smile healthy — and seven I wish everyone would avoid.

7 Best Foods For Your Teeth

1. Dark chocolate

Yes, chocolate is actually first on the list. Thanks to the cacao compound CBH, which scientists found hardens tooth enamel and makes your teeth more resistant to cavities and sensitivity, dark chocolate is a superfood for the teeth.

That’s why all my patients leave their checkups with a small square of dark chocolate in their goodie bags, along with floss and toothpaste. To reap the best benefits yourself, look for a dark chocolate with 75% cacao content or higher, and with less than 8 grams of sugar per serving.

2. Chicken liver

Vitamin K2 is essential to the development of the facial structure, jaw, and teeth. Why? Because vitamin K2 keeps calcium from building up in the arteries, instead injecting it straight into the bones and teeth. Vitamin K2 deficiency is a big reason why most children in North America require orthodontics.